When/why did you get into crafting Minecraft inspired items?

Dan: I bought the original Lego Minecraft Micro-World set and was disappointed at how small everything was. Being that I played with legos all my life I set out to craft something that I knew others wanted.

Have you had any interactions with fans who were excited to be able to get something from you that wasn’t available commercially?

Dan: Definitely. I feel there’s a level of exclusivity associated with custom-made products, in this case toys. 

Dan: The little Steve character is a hit, it also happens to be the first item I built.

Dan: No I have not. In my view, it’s a growing market and it will eventually become an issue. 

Are you concerned about the stability of your shop in light of the licensing deal with Jazwares?

Dan: I am somewhat concerned. To my knowledge, the Minecraft brand has been licensed by other toy manufacturers including Lego and the custom products continue to flood the online marketplace.

Dan: I’m completely for IP rights. I’ll oblige by any cease & desist document I receive. In this scenario though, I believe I and others in the space are helping build the Minecraft label, I see it as free marketing for them. The actual game encourages creativity by having players build entire worlds, a very different pastime for kids who are used to playing violent video games. The Lego’s that I craft further that point and I feel parents would agree.

I took a look at the products that Jazwares produces and I still feel there will continue to be a demand for the toys I make. If anything, I feel their largest competitor is Lego. It would seem very petty of them to attack the crafting community.

Any stories about being a crafter that you’d like to share? 

Dan: By no means is this a business for me, it’s more so a hobby of mine. My real job is in digital media. I work with some big clients and I do see niche markets for all types of goods where passionate communities engage in, Etsy is a big one. I feel big companies that attack small niche groups always get negative PR around them. This appears to be a pretty good example, assuming it happens.

Minecraft Crafters Weigh in on IP and Custom Crafts   Minecraft - 84